Best Coaches In The History Of Rugby League

There are few more exciting sports in the world than rugby league. However, achieving continued success at the highest level can often be very challenging, given the demands the players must overcome in order to win one national title, let alone create a dynasty. 

Unfortunately, rugby has not achieved the same success in the US, even though we have started to see some exhibition matches and amateur leagues showing up in New York, Los Angeles, and .

Throughout history, there have been some legendary stories in the world of rugby league, with each seeing a famous coach leading the team to success at the top level of the game. But who are some of the best coaches in the history of rugby league?

Jack Gibson

It would be challenging to start anywhere else other than the coach that was labeled as the ‘Supercoach’ throughout his career in Australia. Gibson was given this nickname not only for the success that he achieved throughout his career but also for his desire to create new innovations in the game. That includes his ideas behind creating new training and coaching methods in the league, which helped transcend the sport throughout the 1970s and 1980s. 

His legacy sees him rank among the best coaches in the history of the sport, and he achieved major success throughout his career in the dugout. After a fine playing career in the NRL with the Eastern Suburbs and Western Suburbs, he turned his attention to coaching in 1967. 

He would achieve his first notable success with the Eastern Suburbs in 1974, winning the first of two premiership titles with his former side. Further success would later follow between 1981 and 1983, as Gibson would lead the Parramatta Eels to three straight Premiership titles. 

Wayne Bennett

Wayne Bennett is widely regarded as one of the best rugby league coaches in history. Bennett enjoyed a fine playing career, having enjoyed spells at Huddersfield, Past Brothers, and Southern Suburbs. 

He also represented the national side of Australia throughout his playing career in the 1970s. However, his legacy would reach new heights following retirement, as he would set about changing the fortunes of multiple sides around Australia. He would certainly fulfil on that promise, as he holds the record for most Grand Final wins as a coach, landing seven premiership titles from ten final appearances. 

Bennett is most fondly remembered for his time at the Brisbane Broncos, where he spent an NRL-record 24 seasons. Overall, he coached over 1,000 first-grade matches, and he continues to chase the dream of adding another premiership title after being announced as the Dolphins coach in 2023. 

Brian Noble

Bran Noble is one of the most celebrated rugby league coaches in the United Kingdom after achieving great success throughout his career. Noble played at the top level between 1979 and 1995, enjoying great success across spells with Cronulla Sharks and Wakefield Trinity. However, he announced his retirement from playing the game in 1995 after playing 408 times at the top level. In 2001, he made his first steps into coaching, taking over at the Bradford Bulls. 

Noble would achieve huge success immediately after taking over at the team, leading the Bulls to Super League glory following a Grand Final success over Wigan. Further success would be achieved after beating Newcastle Knights in the . Noble would add two further Super League titles during his time with the Bulls, landing success in 2003 and 2005, while also adding two further World Club Challenge wins with the same side. 

The Bulls would also win the League Leaders’ Shield on two occasions during his stay and the Challenge Cup in 2003. Noble would later spend time at Wigan and Salford Red Devils, but he wasn’t able to add any further Super League titles during his coaching career. 

Brian McDermott

Brian McDermott achieved a period of unprecedented success during his career, taking the Leeds Rhinos to the top of the club game. McDermott played at a high level during his playing career, playing 250 times for the Bradford Bulls and representing Great Britain on four occasions before retiring from the sport in 2002. He immediately got into coaching after retiring from playing, enjoying a fine four-year stint with Harlequins between 2006 and 2010. 

However, the vast majority of his success would come during a seven-year stay with the Rhinos. He boasted a win rate of 61% during his stay at the club, which saw the team win the Super League titles in the 2011, 2012, 2015, and 2017 seasons. Furthermore, to success in the 2012 World Club Challenge, and would also claim successes in the Challenge Cup in both 2014 and 2015. 

He decided to end his stay with the Rhinos in 2018 to take up a new challenge with the Toronto Wolfpack, overseeing a stellar season for the Canadian team, winning 28 of their 29 matches. His most recent job saw him take over at Featherstone Rivals before taking up an assistant role in Australia with NRL side Newcastle Knights. 


As the pulse behind a team’s success, the best coaches seamlessly blend strategic acumen with a profound understanding of the game’s nuances. Icons like Wayne Bennett, with an unparalleled coaching career spanning decades, exemplify the transformative impact a visionary leader can have on a team. Bennett’s ability to inspire, innovate, and instill a winning mentality has left an indelible mark on the sport.

Other luminaries such as Craig Bellamy and Trent Robinson have also ascended to coaching pinnacles, showcasing exceptional prowess in shaping formidable teams. Bellamy’s meticulous approach to player development and tactical brilliance has seen the Melbourne Storm consistently excel, while Robinson’s astute leadership guided the Sydney Roosters to multiple championships.

The best coaches in rugby league transcend mere strategists; they are architects of triumph, shaping cohesive units that transcend individual brilliance. Their ability to navigate the complexities of the game, nurture talent, and foster a resilient team culture sets them apart. As rugby league continues to evolve, the legacy of these coaching maestros stands as a testament to their enduring impact on the sport’s landscape.